Skip to main content

If you missed our recap of album releases from late June and July, have no worries! We’re back to let you know about all of the hottest upcoming album releases for August.

Below you will find our “featured” picks, which are big album releases we want to highlight for that specific week. We have also provided other notable releases for each week of the month. Check it out!

August 3

Featured Album: “Stay Dangerous,” YG

The multi-platinum Compton rapper is set to release his third album. YG also recently announced that he will have an album release party/fashion show on Aug. 5 in L.A. to celebrate the new release. While The tracklist consists of 14 songs, including big hits “Suu Whoop” and “Big Bank” featuring Big Sean, Nicki Minaj and 2 Chainz.

Other notable releases:

  • “Golden Age,” Houndmouth
  • “Astroworld,” Travis Scott
  • “To The Sunset,” Amanda Shires
  • “Time Flies” and “Jim Lauderdale and Roland White,” Jim Lauderdale
  • “Movin’ On EP,” Givers
  • “Finding It Hard to Smile,” lovelytheband

August 10

Featured Album: Queen,” Nicki Minaj

The “Queen” of hip-hop returns for her fourth full album. “Queen” was originally supposed to drop on June 15, but was pushed back. The full list of songs is unknown, but we do know of collaborations with Lil Wayne on the track “Rich Sex,” and Ariana Grande on the song “Bed.” “Chun-Li” is also on the tracklist, but “Barbie Tingz” was not listed on the Apple Music preview page.

Update: The album includes 19 tracks, and while “Barbie Tingz” did not make the final cut, a song called “Barbie Dreams” is on the record.

Other notable releases:

  • “Apocalypse,” Primal Fear
  • “Shooter,” Shooter Jennings
  • “Blue Valentine (Vinyl Reissue),” Tom Waits
  • “Jake Shears,” Jack Shears

August 17

Featured Album: “Sweetener,” Ariana Grande

The newly-engaged Ariana Grande releases her fourth album on this day. While several tracks have been confirmed, fans will recognize “No Tears Left To Cry” and “The Light Is Coming” (feat. Nicki Minaj) as notable singles. Grande’s newest single, “God Is A Woman,” is also part of the “Sweetener” album.

Other notable releases:

  • “All Of It,” Cole Swindell
  • “I Hope You’re Happy,” Blue October
  • “Thank You For Today,” Death Cab For Cutie
  • “Hot August Night III,” Neil Diamond
  • “Be The Cowboy,” Mitski

August 24

Featured Album: “Marauder,” Interpol

“Marauder” is studio album No. 6 for the New York City-based rock band. The album consists of 13 tracks, and runs for more than 44 minutes total. “If You Really Love Nothing,” “Complications,” “Flight Or Fancy,” and “Surveillance” are a few of the songs that are included. This is the band’s first album since “El Pintor” in 2014.

Other notable releases:

  • “The Audience Is This Way (Live Album),” Goo Goo Dolls
  • “Parallel Universe,” Plain White T’s
  • “Thanks For Everything LP, (Cover songs)” Third Eye Blind
  • “Performance,” White Denim
  • “Songs You Make At Night,” Tunng

August 31

Featured Album: “Treat Myself,” Meghan Trainor

Not only will this album show Trainor’s talent but also that of her whole family! She told Entertainment Tonight “It’s really special, my entire family sings on every song and [fiancé Daryl Sabara] sings on every song.” We don’t know the full tracklist just yet, but what we do know is that the songs Trainor has released thus far – “NO EXCUSES,” “LET YOU BE RIGHT,” “CAN’T DANCE,” “ALL THE WAYS” and most recently the title track – will all be included. This will be the Grammy Award-winning pop star’s third studio album — all of which have been released since 2015.

Other notable releases:

  • “Runaway,” Passenger
  • “Hydrograd Deluxe Edition,” Stone Sour
  • “Let’s Go Sunshine,” The Kooks
  • “A Broken Frame (The 12″ Singles),” Depeche Mode
  • “Speak & Spell (The 12″ Singles),” Depeche Mode
FanLabel Staff

FanLabel Staff

Enjoy great music and fun contests as you operate your own fantasy record label in the FanLabel app! Pick the songs you think will rise on the contest charts. Compete for the top spot and become a music mogul!